| Per chew | PetHonestyHemp Calming (Chicken) | Zesty PawsCalming Bites (Turkey) |
|---|---|---|
| L-theanine | 30 mg | n/l |
| Melatonin | — | n/l |
| L-tryptophan | 25 mg | n/l |
| Thiamine (B1) | — | n/l |
| Chamomile | 80 mg | 80 mg |
| Hemp | hemp seed powder 50 mg + hemp seed oil 37.5 mg per chew (hemp seed, not CBD) | hemp seed powder 50 mg per chew (hemp seed, not CBD) |
| Other actives | valerian root 100mg, passion flower 45mg, ginger root 30mg, ashwagandha root 25mg, magnesium citrate 2.5mg | proprietary blend 105mg (valerian root, L-theanine as Suntheanine, L-tryptophan; amounts not disclosed), passionflower 45mg, ginger root 30mg, ashwagandha 25mg, magnesium citrate 15mg |
| Chews per day by weight | 0–25 lb: 1 26–50 lb: 2 51–75 lb: 3 76–100 lb: 4 | 0–25 lb: 1 26–75 lb: 2 over 76 lb: 3 |
| Per jar | 90 | 90 |
| Check on Amazon | Search on Amazon |
From manufacturer labels; n/l = not listed. Check the package before buying, formulas change.
Active ingredients side by side
PetHonesty Hemp Calming (chicken)
Per chew: 100 mg valerian root, 80 mg chamomile, 45 mg passionflower, 30 mg L-theanine, 30 mg ginger, 25 mg L-tryptophan, 25 mg ashwagandha, 50 mg hemp seed powder and 37.5 mg hemp seed oil. No melatonin. Other flavors and the Max Strength version use different amounts, so check the bag you buy.
Zesty Paws Calming Bites
Per chew (turkey formula): chamomile 80 mg, hemp seed powder 50 mg, passionflower 45 mg, ginger 30 mg, ashwagandha 25 mg, plus a 105 mg proprietary blend containing L-theanine, valerian root and L-tryptophan (amounts not disclosed). No thiamine and no melatonin.
The two formulas overlap heavily on herbs. Chamomile, passionflower, ginger, ashwagandha and hemp seed powder are even listed at the same per-chew amounts. The difference is transparency: PetHonesty states its valerian, L-theanine and L-tryptophan amounts, while Zesty Paws puts those three in an undisclosed blend.
What the evidence says
Hemp seed is a food ingredient, not a calming agent with dog data. See our hemp seed vs CBD guide.
Valerian, chamomile, passionflower: human data is mixed and dog trials are scarce. See our botanicals guide.
L-tryptophan: mixed results in dog diet studies, usually at higher doses than 25 mg. See our L-tryptophan guide.
L-theanine: small positive dog studies with maker ties. See our L-theanine guide.
Neither brand cites a published trial of its finished chew.
Dosing by weight (from the labels)
| Dog weight | PetHonesty (chicken) | Zesty Paws |
|---|---|---|
| Up to 25 lb | 1 chew | 1 chew |
| 26 to 50 lb | 2 chews | 2 chews |
| 51 to 75 lb | 3 chews | 2 chews |
| 76 to 100 lb | 4 chews | 3 chews |
| Over 100 lb | 1 chew per 25 lb | 3 chews |
Large dogs go through a bag of PetHonesty faster. Zesty Paws listings suggest starting at half the dose.
Onset and daily vs situational use
Both are sold for daily use and for before stressful events. Neither label we found gives a specific onset time. Owners commonly give either one 30 to 60 minutes before storms or travel, but that is a habit, not a label claim.
Who should choose which
- Small dogs: same one-chew dose under 25 lb. PetHonesty's 100 mg valerian is a sizable herbal dose for a tiny dog, so consider asking your vet about a half chew.
- Storms: neither is designed as a fast-acting storm product. A melatonin chew or a vet-prescribed option may fit better.
- Daily stress: either. Choose PetHonesty for known amounts, Zesty Paws for fewer chews in big dogs.
- Sensitive stomach: both carry many botanicals plus hemp seed. Start at half dose.
- Dogs on medication: valerian and tryptophan can add to sedatives and serotonin drugs. Ask your vet first.
Frequently asked questions
Does PetHonesty Hemp Calming contain CBD?
No. The chicken label lists 50 mg hemp seed powder and 37.5 mg hemp seed oil per chew, both from seeds, which contain essentially no CBD. The same is true of the hemp in Zesty Paws Calming Bites. If you specifically want CBD, look for a product that lists cannabidiol in mg.
Which one has more valerian?
PetHonesty publishes 100 mg valerian root per chew. Zesty Paws puts valerian inside a 105 mg proprietary blend and does not disclose its amount. That means only PetHonesty lets you know how much valerian your dog is getting, which matters if your dog also takes sedatives or other calming medication.
Are other PetHonesty flavors the same formula?
Not always. The figures on this page are for the chicken Hemp Calming chew; other flavors and the Max Strength version have used different amounts, and Max Strength adds melatonin. Check which flavor and version you are buying before comparing doses.
Can a 90 lb dog use PetHonesty?
Yes. The label gives 1 chew per 25 lb, so 4 chews for a 90 lb dog, which delivers 400 mg valerian and 320 mg chamomile per day. That is a lot of botanicals. Start lower and talk to your vet, especially if your dog has a sensitive stomach or takes medication.